Public Workflows, Private Data

The workflows you create, and the steps within them, are public. The data you send to a workflow, and all logs and API responses we attach to steps, are private.

As soon as you create and save a workflow, that code is publicly viewable on the internet. We believe everyone should benefit from others' workflows so they can solve the same problems without having to recreate that same workflow from scratch. In turn, we'll run your workflows for free, within the limits for the free tier.

Because your code is public, it's critical you do not save sensitive data — for example, API keys — in workflow steps. You should save those values in step parameters or environment variables, and reference the value of those variables in your workflow, instead.

Trigger and action steps are also public, but the specific values of their step parameters are kept private, by default. For example:

  • If you're using an HTTP trigger and sending data to S3 and SQL destinations, the fact that you're using those steps will be public. But we won't reveal the specific endpoint URL associated with your HTTP trigger.
  • We also won't reveal the name of the S3 bucket to which you're sending data, or the specific data you're sending.

You can always see the visibility status of a workflow and the associated data at the top of your workflow:

Workflow visibility state

Moreover, you can change the default visibility of step parameters to make them public, to set default values or for examples, where relevant.

Private Workflows

To inquire about private workflows, please reach out.

Still have questions?

Please reach out if this doc didn't answer your question. We're happy to help!