Edit and Manage
Editing Title and Description
When you create a workflow, you can edit the Title and Description near the top. We also present some helpful information — the workflow's author, the current version, and visibility state of the code and data, and when the workflow was last updated:
Workflows are public by default, your data is private
All workflow steps are public by default. The data you send to a workflow, or logs you generate, are private.
You can change the visibility of workflow code using the dropdown menu to the right of the code label at the top of your workflow:
Please see our docs on workflow visibility for more information.
Copying public workflows
We hope that the workflows you write are helpful for many other people. If you've written a workflow to send all Stripe transaction data to a Redshift data warehouse, someone else will probably want to use your workflow to solve that same use case.
If you've used Github, you can think of the workflow as a unique, public repository. It's code that anyone can view and copy for their own use.
On Pipedream, anyone can find a public workflow, copy it, and run it, modifying any of the steps within the workflow to make it work for their use case.
Saving and Running your Workflow
When you edit the code in the workflow and save those changes, we deploy a new version:
All events sent to the trigger will run against the most recent version of the workflow.
Code and action steps of Pipedream workflows are executed in the order they appear. These steps can be interleaved — we impose no order besides the "trigger must come first" rule noted above.
Since workflows are public by default, you can simply copy the pipedream.com URL to your pipeline and share it with anyone:
You can also add collaborators to your workflow under your workflow's Settings. Collaborators can edit the code and see its events and execution details.
Workflows can be deactivated by switching the toggle in the top-left corner of any workflow. By defaut, this toggle is green, which means your workflow is active:
Clicking the toggle deactivates your workflow:
Deactivating a workflow has a different impact for different triggers. For instance, deactivating a workflow with an HTTP trigger disables the associated endpoint from receiving HTTP requests (those endpoints will respond with a 404 HTTP status code). Disabling a workflow with a Cron Scheduler trigger will disable the cron job.
By default, inactive workflows are displayed on the list of workflows on the homepage. Active workflows appear with a green vertical bar to their left, inactive workflows with a grey bar. You can remove inactive workflows from the homepage by toggling the Show inactive checkbox at the top of that page.
Since running workflows is free, we encourage you to create as many as you want to test new ideas and understand how the product works. After you create a workflow, you may no longer need it. We support archiving workflows to remove them from your list of workflows on your homepage.
You can archive any workflow by clicking on the ellipsis in the top-right corner of your workflow and selecting Archive this workflow:
Archived workflows do not appear in the list of workflows on your homepage by default.
We provide a few keyboard shortcuts to simplify workflow development:
|Save||⌘ + S or |
|Deploy||⌘ + D or |
Read more about each of the components of a Pipedream workflow below: